UPDATE Re: How to Take an AncestryDNA Test Without Saliva

As some of you may have seen in a previous blog, I recently devised a method to obtain a saliva sample for DNA testing without using actual saliva. (For full instructions, see my blog post: How to do an AncestryDNA test WITHOUT spit) This method has been questioned by many in genetic genealogy circles, however, I have yet to be made aware of it failing. This method has been successfully used with AncestryDNA as well as 23andme.

I originally developed this method in December 2016 after my daughter refused to spit in the vial without immediately gulping it down right after. Geesh… three-year-olds these days… While begging and pleading with someone who can barely count, I started brainstorming how I could possibly get DNA without spit for this test. I knew it was a frequent problem in some of my DNA circles, especially among elderly people. I thought that maybe my three-year-old could be an important part of figuring out how to obtain a sample. Perhaps this experiment could help other people obtain valuable data that they may not have been able to otherwise. So I jumped in feet first and did my best using what I knew already and what I researched after. I was on pins and needles and kept the whole thing hush-hush until I knew if it worked.

Sure enough, her results came back perfect. At that point, I decided to do another test to demonstrate my method for others to replicate. Jacob was my (super adorable) model and volunteer. Sure enough, just like his cousin’s results, his results came in perfect and exactly as we expected them to.

Additionally, a woman commented on my previous blog that she tried my method with a 23andme kit (and her own mouth) and the results came back correctly, showing her second kit as an identical twin to her first kit!

HELP ME OUT!

Now, here’s where I need help. If you used my method, PLEASE comment here on my blog or on my youtube videos and let me know what the outcome was. So far, I am 2 for 2 in the tests I have done using artificial saliva, but that’s not a very large sample size. If you’ve attempted my method, let me know! I’d love to be able to keep track of successes!

So far, the running tally for my method is;

Ancestry: 2/2

23andme: 1/1

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
UPDATE Re: How to Take an AncestryDNA Test Without Saliva, 10.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings

13 thoughts on “UPDATE Re: How to Take an AncestryDNA Test Without Saliva

  1. Lauren McGuire says:

    Sammi – I love this method and I think you’re brilliant!!!!!! I would like to ask you a question about it though – My sister and I have just extracted DNA from a tumor biopsy that was done on our mother in 2007. The DNA extraction looks good and we want to put some in a spit tube and run it through 23andme and ancestry. We have no idea how much of the DNA to use and ancestry has not been helpful thus far. How did you determine that you needed 8 swabs for your test kit and do you have any idea how many ug’s were required? At this point the DNA is in teeny tiny vials of liquid.

    If you send me your email address, I’ll send you a summary of the DNA extracted from the tumor.

    Hope you’re well,
    Lauren McGuire

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Michael says:

    I haven’t tried it yet but I have all the supplies and will be trying it at Ancestry with my sister who can’t do the spitting. We’ll let you know how it goes! It makes great sense to me. Thanks so much for sharing!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Laurie Scott says:

    I would love to know your secret as we are testing my just barely two year old grand daughter with Ancestry.

    Thank you,
    Laurie

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Samantha says:

    Absolutely! I hope it helps! Please come back and let me know what happens!

    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Kath says:

    Where do you get artificial saliva? And what do you mix with it to get a persons dna

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Samantha says:

    Kath, please check out my blog post “How to do an AncestryDNA test without spit” This post will give you step by step instructions on how to make your artificial saliva solution, and how to obtain your DNA sample, all with materials you can find in most supermarkets! You can find the post here:

    http://anotherteenmom.com/reviews/?p=1375

    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. pat gatley says:

    ok how do you do it.. i see no where to place a cr edit card number so whats the deal..? i tried to read the whole thing but its so dim it was mostly impossible.. i found no instructions none at all..

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Samantha says:

    Are you asking how to order a kit?

    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Robert Norton says:

    Got the results from AncestryDNA tonight for our 5 year old grand daughter using your “without saliva” method. All is good. Worked fine. I read your post and watched the youtube video. Simple process. I wasn’t sure where to get a syringe, but daughter had a 5 ml one that came in an assortment of baby supplies. It’s designed to measure medicine and squirt it into an infant’s or toddler’s mouth.
    Thank-you very much.
    Rob

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  10. Elana M Kahn says:

    I just tried this with a 23&me test today. I will let you know how it turns out! FINGERS CROSSED! Her first test (which I had her spit) was a fail, so I’m hoping this method works.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Samantha says:

    Woohoo! Please let me know how it goes and what your results are when you are done! We have had a couple people report success with 234andme (but no one has reported any failure).

    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Samantha says:

    Yes! That type of syringe is what I used as well! Easy to dispense, measure and control!

    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *