When Health Fads Go Too Far – The Jillian Mai Thi Protocol

I absolutely love alternative medicine. I have always been drawn to the alternatives in life; choosing the road less traveled and doing my best to utilize more natural methods before turning to harsher, more medicalized methods of treatment. I absolutely adored gripe water for my gassy children as infants. I use herbals on nearly a daily basis. I am a huge cloth diapering advocate. I have been heavily involved in direct peer-to-peer breast milk donation. I even had an unassisted homebirth after two prior cesareans. The word “alternative” is a frequent theme in my life.

While I adore alternative medicine, modern medicine (and heaven forbid, science and biology) have their place. If I have the sniffles, sure, I’m going to try some licorice root chews and some vitamin C to help curb it. If those sniffles turn into thick green snot, a headache and fever, then it might be time for an antibiotic before this sinus infection gets dangerous. There’s nothing wrong with trying natural methods first, but our society hasn’t advanced as far as it has when it comes to medical care for no reason.

But is there a point where alternative medicine goes too far?

Take a look at your Facebook feed right now and I bet that within a few minutes of scrolling, you’ll find someone selling a magical cure-all; be it an essential oil, a wrap, a pink drink, a weight loss patch, a supplement, or even a magical unicorn to keep in your backyard. The majority of these cure-alls are peddled by multi-level-marketing distributors, while some are self-promoted individuals unaffiliated with any other company or service. While many of these products/services do have legitimate benefits and perks to their use (especially the unicorn), results are often greatly exaggerated by distributors and self-promoters (no, I don’t believe chromium is going to cure grandpa’s lung cancer), thus giving these companies/individuals a pretty bad rap. Regardless of any legitimate benefits, these independent distributors and self-promoters are revered as nothing more than modern day snake oil salesman, even more so with the almost cult-like following these companies and individual somehow manage to gain. While most of these products being peddled aren’t blatantly harmful or deceptive, there are some that are.

Jillian Mai Thi Protocol

I stumbled across a post about the Jillian Mai Thi protocol while lounging in my hotel room on vacation. She is an individual, unaffiliated with any parent company, working on a book about her cure-all juice that fans have nicknamed JJ (or “Jillian Juice”).

I will admit, I was curious. I am always down for learning new tips and tricks to keep myself and my family healthy and happy, however, it only took a few minutes to realize exactly how dangerous what this woman was promoting was. This wasn’t a simple antioxidant drink, or vitamin supplement, this was a recipe for disaster. Jillian’s “juice” is an extremely dangerous fad that could have permanent and even lethal consequences, advertised as a cure-all.

Wait… Did you catch any of that? I’m not sure I did either. We’re curing the… alphabet???

What’s in it?

For the sake of keeping it simple, Jillian’s juice contains cabbage, kale, distilled water and an obscene amount of salt. It is supposedly a fermented drink, however, this isn’t true. Fermentation is a biological process characterized by the chemical breakdown of yeast, sugar, bacteria and other substances. A ferment cannot be achieved in just three days. It simply isn’t possible. Participants are drinking up to a gallon of this concoction alongside a “diet” Jillian recommends (with no actual scientific reasoning behind it).

I know what you’re thinking; surely cabbage and kale can’t be all that bad for you. Really, they aren’t on their own! I would definitely suggest incorporating them into your diet as often as you can! However, the danger in Jillian’s magical juice is the salt content. I have been told the original recipe required 1 tablespoon of salt per cup, while the current recipe states 1 tablespoon of salt per two cups. The salt content is where we run into trouble. The Food & Drug Administration (FDA) recommends a daily value of no more than 2,400mg of sodium per day for adults and children over 4 years of age. The American Heart Association recommends and even more conservative 1,500mg of sodium per day.

Now here’s the kicker… A single teaspoon of salt contains 2,300mg of sodium. There are 3 teaspoons per tablespoon. A gallon contains 16 cups, which means the old recipe had 16 tablespoons and 110,400mg of sodium per gallon, while the new recipe contains 8 tablespoons of salt and 55,200mg of sodium. Considering the damaging effect sodium has on the heart, kidneys, liver and other organs, excess sodium consumption can lead to dehydration, high blood pressure, heart failure, osteoporosis, stomach cancer, kidney disease, headaches, puffiness, bloating, enlarged heart tissue, stroke, and other medical conditions.

The amount of sodium in a half-cup of the new recipe is more than the total recommended daily value of sodium. Jillian is recommending up to a gallon a day, despite the fact that 1 half cup of the concoction is more than the American Heart Association recommended daily sodium intake.

Endangering Infants

As someone actively involved with pregnant and breastfeeding women in my community, I have developed a passion for helping women with their babies. Sometimes these moms come to me because they need breastfeeding help, supplementation help, or their baby appears to be colicky. If there’s one thing I have learned, its that parents with a high needs baby are often sleep deprived, exhausted and desperate. I have met exasperated parents who were to the point that if I had told them wearing a chicken suit and crowing at the full moon standing in a bucket of Jell-o would cure their child’s colic, I’m not so sure they wouldn’t have tried it. Being a parent is hard. Being a parent to a high needs infant… It’s a test of endurance and often leaves parents desperate for a solution; they’ll try anything. If you  throw in a baby with medical issues on top of that, and the desperation increases exponentially. This is where Jillian is giving even more lethal advice;

 

This is where it gets even more alarming. Jillian actually believes that breast milk is a danger due to the parasites, bacteria and contaminants that can be found in breast milk and that her protocol is superior. Take a listen to this video where she claims if a man had a baby, in the middle of nowhere, she would not want him to use another woman’s breast milk; he should use the juice.

Breastfeeding mothers are told their bodies and their milk are toxic and are poisoning their babies. Jillian even posted a link to an article talking about the transmission of pathogens to support her claim that breast milk is dangerous and toxic to a baby.

When a commenter mentioned that he had heard breast milk actually helps to cure cancer, Jillian quickly shut it down, arguing that if that were true there would be no cancer in those populations.

Formula is no exception to her philosophy. When members of her community expressed concerns about fat content, since both breast milk and formula contain significant amounts of fat, Jillian suggested rubbing olive oil or coconut oil into the baby’s skin to all them to “absorb” the fat.

You did not misread. Jillian truly believes that babies can be sustained on nothing but cabbage, kale, water and a lethal amount of salt. The amount of salt in Jillian’s concoction is too much for even a full-grown man, let alone a developing infant who desperately needs the sugars, carbohydrates and fats that breast milk and formula provide. Let us not forget the case of a 17-month-old infant who died last year after being fed a single teaspoon of salt in South Carolina. Please keep in mind that the NHS recommends less than 0.4mg of sodium per day in infants 12 months of age and younger, and less than 0.8mg per day in children 1 to 4 years of age. Remember the calculations we did earlier? A single ounce of Jillian’s concoction contains 431mg of sodium, far exceeding the recommendations for infants and toddlers.

But guys! Jillian says this is perfectly safe for our babies.

Jillian does acknowledge there is risk when using her concoction on infants and children; legal risk. She has a file detailing exactly what to do if you run into problems with Children’s Protective services over the use of this juice on a minor.

Take a minute and really read what she wrote. This is the woman people are taking advice from. Dangerous and potentially lethal advice. Carnal knowledge (sex) and Kosher law (Jewish dietary practices) have absolutely nothing to do with children’s services, nor will they save you if they become involved. Parents have been investigated from the reports of strangers online (anyone remember the Australian mother who tried to sell her kids on eBay?) Lastly, while this drink may be considered Kosher, it is scientifically evident that it is dangerous (even more so in children) and lacking in nutrients, thus, nutritional neglect. Children’s services is not going to give a flying you-know-what that this drink is considered Kosher.

I don’t know about you, but if your favorite new diet trend/fad has a warning on how to deal with Children’s Services…. I’m willing to bet it’s a bad idea.

Let’s regrow body parts and erase an extra chromosome, shall we?

If you weren’t sold on Jillian’s magical salty juice concoction, wait until you hear this! Jillian claims her juice has helped a circumcised man regrow his foreskin (which, presumably, his parents made the decision to wrongfully take from him).

 

Jillian also claims that her drink will correct down syndrome. I don’t know about you, but being able to completely delete a third chromosome from a person’s body is pretty wild. I mean, I can barely delete my emails and Jillian’s magical potion can delete excess chromosomes?

As if this wasn’t enough, many people are using Jillian’s concoction on their pets, to which Jillian has warned her community, that if the animals have been spayed or neutered, it will reverse the procedure. For those who are unfamiliar, when a female dog or cat is spayed, the entire uterus is removed. When a male is neutered, the testicles are completely removed. Jillian believes that her juice can regrow non-regenerative organs that have been surgically removed.

Now I’m wondering if my appendix will regrow…

Don’t go chasing waterfalls…

Let’s talk about what Jillian calls “waterfalls,” AKA explosive diarrhea. Jillian claims this intense diarrhea is “healing” in nature and non-dehydrating. Obviously when drinking this concoction, your body is under a great deal of stress. The excessive sodium will dehydrate you and contribute to diarrhea. I pride myself on being a good writer, but I’m not even sure I can handle this one, so I will let the screenshots speak for themselves.

Wait, what?! And this is celebrated and encouraged? Where’s the puke emoji when you need it?

Jillian’s “Protocol” is dangerous and potentially lethal…

Many people have reported experiencing illness or sickness while attempting Jillian’s protocol. Some have even ended up in the hospital. There has been at least one death that the public is aware of and numerous adverse side effects reported.These complaints and concerns are quickly dismissed as being “signs of healing.” This protocol is dangerous and is being applied not only orally, but used topically, in the eyes and ears, and even in a nebulizer (which believe it or not, is frequently discussed and encouraged in this group). One woman even ended up in the hospital following this recommendation.

I have no words for this. Here we have a woman who works in the medical field, who has been persuaded into doing something as crazy as nebulizing this salty cabbage concoction. And this wasn’t just an off the wall idea; this is a COMMON thing and is talked about in Jillian’s “files” as a way to reap more benefit from the juice.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, mold is also a common concern, to which Jillian recommends just removing the layer of mold and stirring it.  Again, where is that puke emoji when I need it?

I brew kombucha semi-often and if there’s one thing I learned from that, it’s that mold ruins everything. If your brew grows mold, you throw it out. It’s too dangerous to risk consuming. And I have had it happen to my poor kombucha brew before… But again, if it molds, it’s not safe. I’m pretty sure the same goes for this (even though this “ferment” likely has zilch for active cultures, despite what Jillian claims).

How you can help…

I could go on about all of the horrifying things Jillian preaches all day, but this is all the time we have for today (stay tuned for part 2). People are dying from this “protocol.” People are hurting themselves and hurting their families by blindly trusting this health cult leader. People are seriously compromising their health by trying this “great new way of healing.”

Do your research. Talk to your doctor (I guarantee you, not even the quackiest of doctors will recommend this).

What’s even more shocking is how far Jillian’s reach has spread. Her group contains over 30,000 members and is growing by the day. Every day, new members post pictures of themselves making their drinks and talking about how excited they are to try to protocol. This is dangerous and terrifying. There are a few ways you can help;

Have you heard of the Mai Thi Protocol? Did you try it? What are your thoughts?

 

 

 

 

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 8.7/10 (20 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 10 votes)
When Health Fads Go Too Far - The Jillian Mai Thi Protocol, 8.7 out of 10 based on 20 ratings

70 thoughts on “When Health Fads Go Too Far – The Jillian Mai Thi Protocol

  1. Vivian says:

    I tried this for 1 day. And I only used a cup. Made me sick to my stomach and had diarrhea. She said this was normal reaction at first attempt. She started talking about pulling poop out of yourself if you do not have a bowel movement. She explains how to do this in great detail. Many people stop having bowel movements because I think it slows down the peristalsis if the intestines. This is s very dangerous protocol. Our bodies are not designed to have that much salt.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Oh gosh. This is terrible. It seems to be common that when people have physical problems related to the protocol, she brushes it off as being normal or “healing signs.”

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  2. Unreal says:

    I understand this is your blog and your own opinions and experience, however, I do not appreciate you using my personal medical emergency to push your blog and beliefs. I respect your concern, but I did not give you permission to exploit my medical information. I chose to share it in a closed group, not to be shared publicly. I do understand the concept of social media, but it is bothersome to me that you literally stole my personal story to use in your blog with no consent on my part, regardless of my beliefs or yours, when it comes to medicine.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (21 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +7 (from 37 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I am sorry you went through what you did, but this is dangerous and others need to be aware. Your name was removed, so I hope you appreciate that.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.4/5 (7 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 15 votes)
  3. Selective info only says:

    Except you didn’t include the REST OF THE STORY. The juice didn’t put the huge mass in her lungs. Selective blogging.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +3 (from 11 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I am sorry you feel that way. Regardless, it cannot be a good idea to nebulize this stuff.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.3/5 (7 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  4. Ciara says:

    She also believes homosexuality is a mental illness brought about but sexual trauma… this protocol, she believes, is the cure. Seriously.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Wait… what?! This one is new to me. I know plenty of LGBTQ people who were just always that way, no sexual trauma. That’s ridiculous. But… slightly less ridiculous than the Down Syndrome claim.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Barbara Mazzocca says:

    I made a batch of this and it has sat in my fridge for months. I just kept hesitating, after reading all of the posts on her page. People are getting violently ill. All I keep thinking is that people have to be getting dehydrated or their electrolytes will become unbalanced which could lead death. When I started reading about people giving it to their children, I was alarmed. They take pictures of what they perceive to be parasites, but I’d say some of it is human tissue. There is a Facebook page for people who have been hurt by this protocol, and I tried to join it, but they didn’t accept me. What is wrong with them. They need to let anyone in that group to hear what has happened to people.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Samantha says:

      Barbara, join the Facebook group I linked at the bottom of this article. I will let them know to expect you to join.

      I think you very well could be right about the human tissue. Another crazy health fad was bleach enemas. People were posting pictures of long worm looking things they passed… In reality they were likely human body parts, mucosal membranes releasing due to stress on the systems.

      This whole thing is a mess.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  6. Just say no! says:

    Nicely written! I’m so glad that you have exposed the negative effects of this dangerous protocol. Jillian deletes. She stated that it is a large clinical trial with the Facebook group being the peer review. I am wondering what kind of ethics committee approved this trial since they must be regulated. ?

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      She is likely just calling it that, without the actual classification. It’s unfortunate that so many people have been sucked into her lies.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 6 votes)
  7. JJ Survivor says:

    I was doing the JJ for 2 months, then stopped. I’m now suffering the consequences of reduced kidney function. Also, since I stopped the protocol 7 weeks ago, I have not had a normal BM and am still seriously bloated. I had blood tests done in March (before protocol) and again in September (after protocol) and the difference is results is horrifying.

    I did this protocol because I knew I needed to get fermented foods back into my diet and one of my friends recommended it. I’ve since gone back to fermenting PROPERLY and it’s given me some relief.

    It is NOT safe, it is NOT harmless, it is NOT healing, it is NOT acceptable!!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (6 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +9 (from 13 votes)
  8. Sonia says:

    I’ve been monitoring this protocol with great hesitation. She seems to go with the flow, and make changes, like a weather forecast. First red Flag I noticed, was advising to drinking copious amounts of this concoction; whether one regurgitates or not. Consuming, if the drink smells nasty; removing mold and just chug it down? Advising to me, not to do a reputable Andrea Mortiz liver flush to clean my liver first? That her juice will do it all. Acting like the “waterfalls” are “normal”, and to enjoy them. The deal breaker was when she posted about sticking her finger where the sun don’t shine, to relief constipation. There are many products that will naturally help, that one need not resort to the finger up the ass? One victim posted on another site about having irreversible esopogous damage. One thing I learned from a reputable biochemist; too much lactic acid consumption; is the perfect storm for cancer development. It’s the calm before the storm. This lady reminds me of Jim Jones in Jamestown. Her victims will have irreversible organ damage and probably develop cancer at some point. JONES followers died quickly drinking what they thought was a healthy drink. While Jillian’s followers, will die slowly, with the progression of acute complications. She crossed the line by advising to safely give to children. There are tons of YouTube natural fermented food tutorials. I follow “off the grid” which has many diverse recipes.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 4.3/5 (6 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      This is exactly it. Her method ism’t an actual method. She is making things up as she goes, claiming they work, yet they have no actual backing.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (4 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  9. Tabby says:

    I was added to this group by a friend and I spent quite some time wondering how in the world this lady was convincing people to do the most obvious dangerous things. I’m glad I’m not alone in thinking this is just awful.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      That’s the most perplexing part of it all! WHY are people listening to her? When I initially stumbled upon it, I thought it was a joke. I wish it was, but people are actually listening to her. People are IGNORING science and easily confirmed information about healthy sodium ingestion, and trusting this quack with their life.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  10. Aggravated says:

    What I don’t get is she doesn’t even have kids so to tell me, my womb is full of parasites is crazy. I had not one, but TWO healthy kids yet somehow, my womb was full of awful things. I did the juice for two weeks. My kale one was COVERED in mold so I tossed out the entire jar. I don’t play with mold. My daughter, who loves sauerkraut, wouldn’t go near this juice or even near me when I drank it. Watching the videos of moms giving it to their precious littles makes me sick to my stomach. I’d juice breastmilk or formula over this juice ANYDAY.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I am so sorry you got sucked into her trap, but I am glad you realized the truth!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  11. Aggravated says:

    Choose* not juice breastmilk

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. BarelyMadeIt says:

    I tried JJ for 5 days. On the 5th day I started violently throwing up X24 hrs and what started out as “waterfalls” turned into 72 hours of diarrhea. I lost 7# and could not keep anything, water, nothing, down. I should have gone to the hospital, but I was afraid of what the Drs would say when I told them what brought it on. I messaged Jillian, she said it was “normal healing symptoms”….I have never in my life been so sick. There was no way I was going back to that death juice. This is a cult. She needs to be stopped.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Your body doesn’t send you those signs when you’re healing… Those are warning signs something is wrong! I am so glad you’re okay.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
  13. Constance says:

    The desperate will try anything. I have chronic Lyme and tried it for a week. Had the successful and highly touted “waterfalls” and then remembered the worlds of sage alternative practitioners who DON’T recommend colonics or coffee enemas daily. Would they recommend this? I asked various alternative practitioners including a chiropractor, a doctor at a holistic clinic, and a registered nutritionalist. ALL alternative practitioners who have ALL having left traditional medical fields.

    All just about had a stroke about the salt (pun intended.) Jillian Juice is an extremely dangerous “cocktail” considering the recommended dosage is one gallon per day.

    I know what a cult leader looks like … and I followed one for a week.

    Never again.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I am so glad you sought out the professionals you did! Take care of yourself!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  14. Sterling says:

    I, too, have had reservations about JJ. I asked a question about the amount of salt and kidney problems and it was not posted or answered, as all posts have to be approved. Some observations: The diet is quite healthy, with no grains, essentially paleo. I really believe that a lot of people are getting good results just from the diet. Remove carbs and gluten and junk food and you get a healthier gut.The juice does have probiotics in it. (the protocol has cleared up my diarrhea. I’ve been doing it about a week. I believe the “waterfalls” are essentially the same thing as what you do before a colonoscopy. The salt clears you out.) I wish she was more rooted in reality and not so extreme. She REALLY could help some people, because paleo, probiotics, and healing the gut are real basic to getting healthy. I’m glad I read this. I will take the info on her page *with a grain of salt*, lol. I had no idea she had made some of the claims written above. The longer I’ve been involved, the more questions I have, but I don’t get that questions are welcome. I was frustrated at the start because I was told to “read the files!” The files consist mostly of Jillian rambling on and on. It’s hard to glean any info from these videos. I am an information person and I have many questions that haven’t been answered. I’m going to take a more conservative approach and go with Dr. Axe and his candida protocol, which included properly fermented cabbage. I know I need it.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.8/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Oh yes! Absolutely! Grains are such a source of inflammation for so many people (I try to avoid them due to my autoimmune issues). The diet isn’t the issue though, it is the extremism and the mass amounts of sodium.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  15. Jennifer says:

    Obviously this blogger, although has done extensive biased research on Jillian, hasn’t done the same due diligence when it comes to the *type* of salt used in this protocol nor the research on the differences of “table salt” and pink Himalayan salt and how the latter is direly needed in our bodies today to put back into our bodies what medicines, our environment and the crap the FDA suggests we eat has stripped our bodies of. I appreciate a good blogger/blog who respects the natural way of healing the body but it would make them look less stupid and vindictive if they did *all* their research before spouting off on a subject….and in this case, an actual person, slandering them in the process.
    I’m on the protocol, have passed parasites through these waterfalls (wanna see pics?:) and have had THE best sleep of my entire life!
    God bless you blogger~ I appreciate you wanting to warn people of dangers. Maybe your next blog entry can be on those antibiotics you fall back on when your oils don’t work or the FDA you unfortunately trust ?????

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (16 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -3 (from 23 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I don’t use essential oils, thanks for asking.

      All I can ask you is… Do you understand that pink Himalayan salt also contains mass amounts of sodium?

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
  16. Sara Truth Seeker says:

    Your sources are from liars and money hungry corrupted marketers… You trust government powered organizations to tell you how much of this and that you need to sustain a healthy lifestyle. MANY humans are actually mineral deficient because of the crap sold in stores nowadays. Yeah, table salt is considered to be regulated now because it’s having obvious effects on people’s health, but they want you to be fooled into thinking natural salts aren’t important. So it’s a win win for the corruption in society. Go ahead and just take these people’s word for it when they tell you how to live your life, but I choose to speak out and promote truth in society. Not believe OBVIOUS lies in being told by people who don’t give a shit if I live, and if they do it’s because they’re not done using me as one of their lab rats just yet. Just a few more tests, a few more mutations. I am not somebody’s puppet. My life is my own, and I decide my fate. I will not allow my life or the lives of my loved ones to he in the hands of people who only want money and power. So go ahead and bash this woman if it makes you happy. That’s everyone’s ignorant problem. We keep fighting each other, so we never have the chance to see them pulling our strings and turning us every which way they intended. Turn the people against themselves and they’ll never see where the TRUE corruption lies. Well, not me. I won’t subject myself to such IGNOREance. I choose to seek TRUTH for the betterment of my life, my society, and my family.. The human race ?

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (13 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -10 (from 28 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      You realize that even natural salts… contain sodium?

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.3/5 (6 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +5 (from 9 votes)
  17. Mbo says:

    @Unreal – you ought to be ashamed of yourself. How could a paramedic be sucked in to something like this in the first place? Didn’t you learn any biology? Didn’t you learn that science doesn’t care what you believe? Do you seriously need to be told that inhaling a non-sterile nebulised liquid is a bad idea?

    I don’t think you are a paramedic. I was one once, now I am a doctor and I have never heard the expression ‘breathing treatment’.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.9/5 (7 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +5 (from 13 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I agree with you in that it’s shocking that she did this with her medical background, however, I don’t doubt the validity of her occupation. And I have heard the phrase “breathing treatment.”

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  18. Donna Hone says:

    Why don’t you go after Big Pharm where the real damage is being done. Seriously, you are probably on their payroll.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.2/5 (13 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -13 (from 21 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Donna, I wish I was on their payroll! Unfortunately, I’m not. I agree Big Pharma is an issue (and boy can I go on tangents about that!) but this is also an issue. Pick up a text book. Do a google search. This amount of sodium is toxic. It might seem simply because it’s “just salt” but that amount? Lethal

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
  19. Sterling says:

    It is obviously working for some people. I just wish she would recommend haviing kidneys monitored. Some people may be able to tolerate these large amounts of sodium. Others, not so much. We are all different. Essentially, these large amounts of salt are causing the bowel to clean out, and many people really need that. It’s like doing an colonoscopy prep every day. Same “waterfalls” with that. I’m kind of on board with doing this once a week. I KNOW when I started this, that I had detox symptoms, die off of the candida, that got better after a day or two, because I’ve experienced this taking other probiotics. All people want is to get well. I feel that the following she’s gotten is a sign of the times. Quick fixes and making alliances based on emotions instead of facts. Is there a happy medium?

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -4 (from 10 votes)
  20. Sterling says:

    Yes, it is way too extreme to drink gallon a day, IMO. I have read some reputable articles about salt. There are some cultures that eat tons of it, Norwegians for one. (Salted fish). But they aren’t doing this every day.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  21. Ed says:

    I take issue with your claim that this is “killing people.” You have no proof of this. And you selectively mention the one guy, Bruce, who died while on the protocol when you know damned good and well he was in hospice. That means any hope of recovering is gone, you are going to die. So he tried the JJ as a last resort but it was too late for him. You know this. To leave things out is the same as lying. You did your homework, there is no reason to lie.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.8/5 (12 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -8 (from 20 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I’m not lying. Sodium consumption in that level is killing your body. It is killing people. Those “healing signs” are your body fighting death.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.5/5 (6 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: +5 (from 9 votes)
  22. Vivian says:

    A salt flush done periodically in your life is a good practice. Being very diligent about mr your electrolytes. But drinking a gallon of this per day? Dies that even make sense? Dangerous yo the body.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 6 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      It’s extremely dangerous!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  23. Observer says:

    Can I ask all of you presumably so educated people and so willing to research what is it that thay hook you up to in the hospital when you are dehydrated. You know that clear bag of fluid, you get straight into your vein. Now go do some ACTUAL research on that. The lady that posted this did not do near 10% needed research on salt, sodium, table salt, other salts, sodium chloride, then chloride alone, then read the newest studies on salt affect . You have 0 chemistry knowledge seems like, and are actually worse than the lady you made this article about. You claim to have knowledge, just as much as she does. I am actually positive that she might have more knowledge than you chemistry wise. Oh and while you go and do actual research, find out what non sticking agents are, that are only found in table salt, not the natural salts, only in the the washed and heated salt and pay special attention to what it does to water in cells. I mean i could just go on and on and on and maybe you would get the bigger picture. See, i dont know whats worse, you or her!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 11 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I won’t even try to play the “who is smarter” game. But please, by all means, go visit your doctor and ask them what a healthy sodium consumption level is.

      I’ll wait.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -2 (from 4 votes)
  24. Shari says:

    It’s so easy to make your own sauerkraut. When you make your own, after proper fermentation is achieved, you keep it in your refrigerator & eat some everyday without heating it up (you don’t want to kill off the good bacteria). This is nature’s probiotoc. The best & least expensive probiotoc, & it tastes great!!!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Yes! Properly fermented sauerkraut is great!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  25. Michael says:

    Lies, lies, lies and how legal is copying from a private closed group?

    Should tell you a lot about who is pushing the lies.

    The ignorant comments about salt is disgusting and the fact that people cannot even be bothered to read the difference pink salt and table salt speaks volumes of the idiotic sheep following this nasty person.

    Learn before posting, try the protocol before commenting.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -3 (from 9 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I hate to break it to you, but pink salt still contains sodium.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  26. Please watch this very informative interview about salt by Dr. James
    DiNicolantonio.

    We’ve been lied to about the dangers of salt just like everything else. Things that are bad for us are promoted by government as good and things that are good for us are promoted as bad… This issue is no different as they do not want us to be healthy and vibrant. They can’t make money off of healthy people, right? This doctor dispels the many myths about the dangers of salt and how we need it. Sodium is also a nerve conductor. It helps the synapses fire, etc. (Yes, I know I”m using the two terms interchangeably : ) But the video interview is an excellent watch and I learned a lot myself. I am doing the protocol and have been doing it for the last few months and I’ve experienced quite a few healings. I had a horrific case of candida for three years that wiped me out and made me a barely functional human being, wife, and mother of two. My energy was sooo low and I needed two hour naps every day. The candida has left my body and I feel like a real human being again! No naps needed and when bedtime rolls around I feel like I can do jumping jacks! What a change for me b/c I used to crawl into bed around 7-8pm and conk out cold! I had gall bladder/liver issues for a long time that were causing me a great deal of pain. Just gone after purging out some strange looking black gall stones. No more pain! Yay! I was also suffering from acne since 15 and now my skin is finally clean and clear and I’m getting compliments on it now. My eyesight was always 20/20 but for the last year, things were getting blurry. This is in the process of improving. It’s not perfect again just yet but I can thread a needle quickly again! Work in progress! My thyroid function was very low and I feel like it’s working properly again as my body temp. was always running cold. Not no mo! I have had digestion problems and bloating for ages and always looked 6 months pregnant even when I wasn’t and my stomach is finally getting flat again! I was doing gluten-free for quite a while but not experiencing any improvements and it seemed like I was able to eat less and less types of foods b/c of developing intolerances. A doctor I went to told me to eliminate wheat, eggs, tomatoes, potatoes, etc. and they did make me feel awful but I am able to eat them all now with no issues whatsoever! So these are just a few of my wins so far and it’s only been a few months but I really truly have tried everything and every healing modality under the sun all the while spending thousands of dollars in the process with just very minimal results (just padding these doctors’ bank accounts!) I’ve been trying to heal for years and I’m just really fed up! Nothing had quite worked like this protocol in such a short amount of time. There’s an old saying my grandpa would say – He’d say “Don’t knock it until ya try it!” I’m giving it a try and so far it’s really the only thing that’s giving me results without spending thousands of dollars a year. My husband is very happy with the budget cuts and I’m truly helping my family’s financial situation by doing this whereas before I was bankrupting my family with my natural doctor bills and herbal supplement purchases. Anyway, I believe Jillian is doing this out of the kindness of her heart by sharing this information for free. She has helped many many people including myself and for that I am super thankful! Anyway, here is the video by Dr. DiNicolantonio. Please have a watch to dispel all those nasty lies about salt/sodium that we’ve been fed over the years. All the best to you and your family : )

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 9 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      I never said salt is bad. Quite the opposite. We NEED some salt in our diets. However, the amounts in this recipe is ridiculously high and potentially lethal.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -3 (from 5 votes)
  27. JustMe says:

    Oooh, Jillian!
    You are really on to healing, girl and.here comes Chicken Little!!??
    Keep studying, little one and.give the protocal a try.
    The worms are limiting your ability to understand its entirety!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  28. tinkerjenn says:

    Really interested in reading the Part 2 follow-up, but I can’t seem to find it. Is it available yet?

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Not yet, but working on it! We have several follow ups planned.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  29. Necole says:

    I had no idea some one died from this. I’ve been following the whole story about this for quite some time . I’m alot like you, I love alternative medicine and was curious at first. That curiousity stopped as soon I saw her recommnding this for infants.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Exactly. There is no way that ANY rational adult would think this is nutritionally appropriate for a child.

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  30. Arie says:

    It’s so sad and disheartening that there are a group of women (unfortunately, most are mothers), that have nothing better to do than slander people who are trying to do right in the world. What do you contribute outside of your drama? You are pitiful.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -3 (from 7 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Why, thank you!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  31. Beware says:

    A bag of 0.9 normal saline contains 9gm of sodium. Unless dehydrated or hypotensive, the fluid is being used to keep the vein patent. The average rate to keep vein open is about 12ml/hr which would be 288 ml in a 24 hour period. That is just under 2 teaspoons in a 24 hour period. Ummm, how much sodium is in a gallon of her so called “juice.”

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 8 votes)
  32. Mbo says:

    You’re right, I am a mother. But this is not slander, as it is a correct statement of fact. What do I do to contribute outside of my drama? I’m so glad you ask. Being an adult, my life has minimal drama which leaves me plenty of time to contribute. I am a doctor, an actual, medically-trained-in-a-first-world-nation-according-to-the-actual-laws-of-science doctor. So I know that Jillian’s advice is harmful.

    The very idea that you have parasites or fungus that can’t be medically diagnosed is rather silly. The idea that you can treat these imaginary infestations with salty cabbage is foolish. The idea that salty cabbage water contains all the nutrients a baby needs, is dangerous. You don’t need to be a doctor to know that, but I imagine having half a brain would help.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (8 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +6 (from 16 votes)
  33. nicole says:

    the jillian mai thi experiment is dangerous. she advocates that its safe to give babies fermented salty cabbage juice. jillian mai thi advocates to people that her salty cabbage wine is better for babies than formula. jillian mai thi claims to be able to cure downs syndrom with her protocol. people have also had seizures as a result of the protocol which jillian mai thi says is healthy and a sign of healing. jillian mai thi claimed her protocol to heal cancer, yet Bruce Wilmot died on her protocol and he had cancer. Bruce wilmot was not in hospice when he started jillian mai thi protocol, she has since publicly stated he died because he wadnt aggressive enough with her juice. jillian mai thi boasts about having #3FingersUpHerOwnButt to make herself poop ,she calls this “purging toxins”. after putting #3FingersUpHerOwnButt she will photograph things she pulled out of her butt and tell people its parasite eggs. i believe jillian mai thi is a delusional person with a severe eatin disorder who is obsessed with poop,parasites,and she is a narcissist.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 10 votes)
  34. Wanda Wasilewski says:

    Her it is 2017 and we still have Quack Dr. want ta be out there.. If you and Salt to cabbage all you get is salted cabbage in it’s own juice.. Let it sit covered for six weeks, you have sourkraut..

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  35. Angela says:

    I started Jillian’s protocol April 3, 2017. I have been battling Lyme Disease and 9 co-infections since 2005. I was to the point I could barely walk. I had huge nodules in my neck, suffered from degenerative disc disease, scoliosis, and had severe edema. I have tried western medicine and it has failed me with the many drugs that cause lots of other issues. I ran across Jillian’s protocol from a friend. I decided to try it. Within 4 weeks the nodules in my neck were totally gone! I was able to walk and the pain subsided. And I had energy like I haven’t had since I was a child. My friends and family also saw a HUGE difference. And the natropath I started seeing 18 months ago is totally on board with me using this protocol. He is amazed at my progress and is recommending it to his other patients. I am so very thankful I found this protocol! It is giving me my life back!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.6/5 (14 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -7 (from 31 votes)
  36. Chris says:

    I find it so bizarre how people will claim that the critics of systems like this are blindly following doctors and “big pharma” etc without seeing the irony that this is exactly what they are doing themselves.

    I was vaguely curious about this but the first thing I wanted to see was what her background is – I eventually found the video buried amongst all the files, and it started with her talking with barely veiled contempt about the people who want to know where she got this from and why anyone should believe her. According to her she just watched a lot of YouTube videos and read some articles, which really doesn’t qualify anyone to do anything.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  37. Sarah says:

    Being this devil down.
    Telling moms that they can stop breastfeeding or using formula and use strictly just over salted cabbage juice. Umm no.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +1 (from 7 votes)
  38. I am not an advocate for this Jillian — but reading a comment from a Doctor about nutrition just turns me off. They do not have any training with nutrition and are lacking at prescribing medicine knowledge. So the VERY last person I will listen to is a damn doctor about nutrition. I will just tell you something about Salt – it is VERY Healing for myself, I have not tried this so called juice but i just drink chicken soup with extra salt – it is very therapeutic for me personally. What is in an IV in the hospital??? Salt will rid the body of negative energy and that is what the body really is here.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
  39. NoneYaBizness says:

    I’m all about natural remedies, BUT I love my white coat! ROFLMFAO!!! I hope none of you are breeding.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  40. ML says:

    I work with Nutrigenomics and am a Wellness Coach. That means I look at POSSIBLE genetic Tendencies and Food Choices and Goals for people on the road to Wellness. I give them information on tendecies and give suggestions….. A few observations here in my opinion :1. Mold is NOT good for you. Even Blue Cheese dressing for people with high histamines causes an issue. This opinion mind you is different than for some other fermentations like yogurt, pickles etc. 2. If a person has sulfa issues, or oxalate issues, or issues with Phytic acid and drinks this? Oh my gosh! Possibly, they in for a world of hurt. They cannot metabolize the huge amounts present and this can truly cause issues for them such as gallbladder, kidneys, GI distress, anxiety, and high ROS vs antioxidants. MANY people have genetic snps (the enzymes they have) cannot breakdown the sheer amount present here in this recipe such as NAT SULT CYP SUOX CBS COMT G6PD etc. No one thing makes everyone well, we are each unique and what is good for one may be destructive for another. If the statements of this magic cure all were true for magnesium, we would never be sick again right? Thank you for sharing. I will keep an eye out for clients trying these things and share the possible issues that may arise so they can make informed choices..

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      Thank you so much for your input! I have actually had my genome sequenced… Most people haven’t and wouldn’t have the slightest clue about these different risks!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  41. Mbo says:

    Jeff – unless you are a doctor, how would you know what doctors are taught about nutrition? This is a common trope – doctors get one 45 minute lecture about nutrition/vaccines/lyme/whatever you’re trying to misrepresent. You simply do not know – and not surprisingly, you are incorrect. And you don’t need any formal medical education to know that cabbage + water + salt =/= a nutritionally complete meal.

    And guess what doctors do know a lot about? Homeostasis, and conditions like hypernatraemia. What are the signs of hypernatraemia, Jeff? We also know why IV fluids contain salts, you might want to look up some keywords like isotonic, hypertonic, and osmosis.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  42. Mbo says:

    ML – thanks for your great example of some of the hallmarks of pseudoscience. One is to take an inch of reality and run a mile with it. The information you claim to have about genetic variations and their impact on foods simply doesn’t exist. Think about it – 1) real science is not that far down the road of genetics to actually have those answers; 2) one of the things we do know is that genotype does not guarantee phenotype; 3) there are far more important things like cancer on the to-do list of gene technology, it will be a long time before hypothetical food intolerances get to the top of that list.

    Another hallmark is the fear of mould. Black toxic mould!! Candida overgrowth!1!! Nonsense. Even blue cheese is bad for you? More nonsense. Tell that to the people of Roquefort or even France generally where the average life expectancy is 5 years longer than the USA, and their rates of heart disease are much much lower.

    If you have any actual evidence to the contrary, I’d be open to seeing it.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *