Short & Sweet – How to do AncestryDNA or 23andme WITHOUT Spit

WOW!

I can’t believe the response I have had to my artificial saliva method for AncestryDNA and 23andme! My blog generates a lot of hits typically, but my numbers have risen DRAMATICALLY since publishing my tutorial on artificial saliva for DNA testing! Haven’t seen my artificial saliva method yet? CLICK HERE! So far, I have seen my method circulated throughout various groups on Facebook, Reddit, other blogs and more! I can’t thank everyone enough for help spreading the word! This method is allowing MORE people to test, and thus, increasing the chances that more people  will be able to find their answers!  Every person added to these databases is a victory and something to be celebrated. These additions, while seemingly small and insignificant, are critical, especially for those of us who are searching for our biological families! You never know who might just be the match that leads to someone’s answer. Keep up the good work!

In the meantime, I have continued to use the method as necessary to obtain DNA samples. My niece recently tested, but unfortunately, she just couldn’t get enough spit going. I thought this would be a great opportunity to make an updated, short and sweet version of the tutorial. I mean, the last one was pretty long! Here it is!

Again, if you need written instructions, please refer to the previous link HERE.

Oh! And for those of you who INSISTED I was hurting my nephew by swabbing him, check out what Lexi has to say in the video about how much it “hurt.” She’s normally pretty wimpy, so if it hurt, she would make it very known.

VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Short & Sweet - How to do AncestryDNA or 23andme WITHOUT Spit, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

5 thoughts on “Short & Sweet – How to do AncestryDNA or 23andme WITHOUT Spit

  1. JR says:

    The new terms (14 Dec 17) on AncestryDNA state that the minor needs to be 13 years old to participate, so keep that in mind to stay within terms. If discovered the terms state that the test will be removed from the system.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      This is actually for them to participate on the website due to COPPA laws and regulations. Their DNA can be in the system, but the children themselves are not permitted to use the website nor create accounts. Hope that makes sense!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Terrie Jackson says:

    I tried this method on my 82 year old mother and it worked. Her results came back on 30 Dec 2017 which I had sent them in on 11 Dec 2017. Sadly, I got this done 5 hours before my mom passed on 06 Dec.

    Thank you for the tutorial !!!

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Samantha says:

      That is incredible! I am so so so sorry for the loss of your mother, but I am so happy you were able to get her DNA done before she passed! That is an invaluable gift!

      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.11_1134]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Earl S. Chambers says:

    OK funeral homes everywhere, start swabbing those individuals you care for as part of your processes and give the beneficiaries an option by giving them the completed DNA kit so that they can now submit their loved ones DNA for testing.

    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.11_1134]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *